A Legacy of Things

close-up detail of vase

When I was a little girl, my parents owned The Catskill Valley Hobby Shop in Kingston, New York, which is located just 90 miles north of New York City. It was a boutique shop before boutique shops were even a thing.  The toys ranged from Matchbox cars and Legos to Steiff stuffed animals and Barbies.

The hobbies reflected my parents’ interests — for my father HO, N and TT gauge train sets and radio control airplanes. For my mother knitting, sewing, copper enameling, painting, and ceramics. There was even a kiln in the basement of the shop. I was 7 or 8 and I learned everything from how to clean greenware to prep and decorate copper pieces. I also learned to sew and knit, not well, but learned the basics nonetheless.

Now, as an adult, I have a legacy of things throughout my house, which I’ve decided to chronicle along with the memories I have with their development. As I age, I’m not sure where these will end up — most do not fit in with the modern open-concept most people aspire to now. They hearken back to the age of the arts and crafts movement and a time before free time was spent traveling in cyberspace.

Along with hand made things, I also have antiques, or what I think are antiques. There are even utensils and sewing notions that were old when I was a child. All of these things hold memories for me. So I decided to catalogue them here where only the dust of cyberspace will erode their time and meaning.

Here is a gallery preview of some of this legacy of things.

IMG_0154IMG_0267

 

IMG_0149IMG_0243IMG_0133

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

